Order of operations when grading in ACES

Hi, im fairly new to ACES grading. When I grade in other color spaces(mainly in LOG). I tend to work like this:

LOG controls corrections->Normalization(mainly contrast and saturation)->Look work.

I like share the Normalization since it helps me to keep consistence in my grading. In ACES I’m working all time before a normalized image since there is a ODT, but I understand I’m still working in Log space. Should I consider my order of operations like I did on standard Log space? I tried to find answer to this question and I didn’t find any solid answer, sorry if it’s to basic.

Thanks in advance,

You should work in ACEScct for the closest experience to grading in Log. Contrast and Saturation will behave in the same way, you just won’t need to dial them as much as when grading in LOG ( I assume that you are currently grading LOG without a print LUT or Monitor LUT on the output )

When you say “normalisation” here, are you referring to “making the image look normal”, i.e. “not flat and log”? Your normalisation process here is doing the job that a print emulation LUT or camera LUT would do if you used one, correct? I ask because the term “normalisation” is more commonly used for the “correction” step you refer to before your normalisation, to even out differences of exposure or white balance, to get every shot to the same “normal” start point.

In ACES, what you call “normalisation” is done for you by the combination of the RRT and ODT.

With your previous approach you then apply your look after this, working on a “display referred” image, i.e. one which is already a “normal video image”. You cannot do this with ACES, as the RRT + ODT is the last step, applied by the grading system, and you cannot add anything after it.