A Cinematographer's Take on HDR and ACES

A Cinematographer’s Take on HDR and ACES

By James Mathers
Cinematographer and Founder of the Digital Cinema Society

I’m no expert on the subject of HDR, but as a Cinematographer, I’m not sure I really need to be. To use an expression coined by my fellow Cinematographer friend, Bill Bennett, ASC, “we’ve been shooting HDR for years.” That’s because film and more recently high end Digital Cinema cameras have already been able to capture the necessary dynamic range. HDR is a display format rather than a capture format and the only problem is that the display technology has not previously been capable of properly showing HDR.

Now such technology is on the near horizon. It is estimated that there will be hundreds of titles available to stream in HDR by the end of the year with more on the way. I personally think it is a very engaging technology. Its more than just showing brighter highlights and a greater range between dark and light; it adds depth to the image, makes it more dimensional and immersive.

However, just as there are are huge benefits, there are also huge challenges. One is that although consumers are not yet experiencing much HDR in the home, they soon will be, and the images we capture today will likely be viewed in HDR in the not too distant future. However on-set HDR monitoring options are not always practical, so how do we evaluate what we’re capturing to know how it will eventually be displayed?

There are only handful of true professional grade HDR displays, and although they produce exquisite images, they are quite pricey and delicate, seeming more suited to the DI suite than the set. You also need a proper viewing environment which can be tough with the kind of narrative location based shooting I usually do, even though with HDR, a controlled viewing environment seems even more critical.